In 2014 the Society established the annual Croker Prize for Biography in memory of our generous Benefactors Colin and Loas Croker. 

From 2016 one prize is awarded annually,  Details of the current competition and the entry form are available here

Entries remain on the website for the current and previous year and are then transferred to the Society's digital archive system, where they will be found through the MIDAS catalogue.

You'll find entries for previous years here 


Previous Winners: 

2018 - 'A life-changing experience' - Winner Patricia Smith - 'A double-edged sword' 

2017 - 'A Tough Life' - Winner Kim Hatherly - A Boy from Shoreditch' 

2016 - 'The Ancestor I most admire is ... ' - Winner Christine Collins - Dan's Legacy

2015 - 'My immigrant's story' - Winner Bob Wright - Granny Greenhalgh (2015 Board Prize & 2015 Members' Choice Prize) 

2014 - 'The blackest sheep in my family's flock was ...'

             Winner Members's Choice Category - Bob Wright - Old Brine: Terror of the Richmond River (Brian O'Neil)  

             Winner Board Category - Elizabeth Adams - Sailing Uncharted Waters - the wreck of Master Mariner William



2019 entries:  

You can read each of the 2019 entries by clicking on the hyperlink below.  The 2019 winner is Wendy Pryorfor The Indomitable Miss Jane Skillicorn, while Jim Fleming was given a Highly Commended Award for his entry 'A Noble Harvest' 

1901 A Pioneering Woman
1902 An Answered Call
1903 Newtown's Noble Woman
1904 The Digger's Daughter
1905  A Woman Appreciated
1906 The Indomitable Miss Jane Skillicorn - Winner 
1907 Sheila Holman
1908 A Noble Harvest - Highly Commended 
1909 Mrs Black
1910 Elva Edith Morison
1911 Eliza Do-a-Lot